Foreign Service Blogs

Last Updated 4/9/14

Below is an extensive—though not comprehensive—list of Foreign Service blogs. This collection is intended as a way to highlight and share the creative talents in our diplomatic and development corps. The blogs give insight into work and life in the U.S. Foreign Service around the world. Students, FS candidates and the general public should find blogs of interest here.

Please note that almost all of these blogs are personal and unofficial and do not represent the views of AFSA or any of the foreign affairs agencies. This list was compiled by Danielle Derbes for the June 2011 The Foreign Service Journal, and is updated regularly. If you know of an FS blog that is not on this list or would like your own blog added or removed, please e-mail FSblogs@afsa.org. You may also want to check out Matt Keene's "Speaking Out" column from the December 2011 issue - "FS Blogging: An Opportunity, Not a Threat." For AFSA’s guidance on personal use of social media, including blogging, please click here.

Official Blogs and Resources

  1. Dipnote http://blogs.state.gov/
  2. Foggy Bottom Rambles http://foggybottomrambles.blogspot.com/ (Family Liaison Office resource for unaccompanied tours)

State Department Foreign Service Officers

These are the personal journal blogs of Foreign Service Officers with the Department of State. They cover all FS generalist career tracks: political, public affairs, economic, consular and management—and include everyone from new A-100 new hires to ambassadors.

  1. A World Safari http://www.aworldsafari.blogspot.com/
  2. Adventures Around the World http://heathersworldadventures.blogspot.com/
  3. Adventures in Good Countries http://kakiser.blogspot.com/
  4. Ambassador Michael C. Polt http://ambassadorpolt.wordpress.com/
  5. Ambassador's Blog http://ambassadorblogiceland.blogspot.com/
  6. Consul-at-Arms II http://consul-at-arms2.blogspot.com/
  7. Dear Diary: Travels in the Foreign Service http://deardiarytravelsintheforeignservice.blogspot.com/
  8. Deeblog http://deeblog.squarespace.com/
  9. Erica Green http://ericajgreen.wordpress.com/
  10. Just another Foreign Service Officer's Blog http://ryanmckean.wordpress.com/
  11. Kitty Non Grata http://mlab555.wordpress.com/
  12. Life After Jerusalem http://www.lifeafterjerusalem.blogspot.com
  13. Mabsuta Bideshi - Happy Foreigner? http://mabsutabideshi.blogspot.com/
  14. Neither Here Nor There http://damandac.wordpress.com/
  15. Red Licorice and Jujubes http://atexgal.blogspot.com/
  16. Rock Star in Dhaka http://dhakastar.blogspot.com/
  17. Sadie Abroad http://sadieabroad.blogspot.com/
  18. Switzerland http://tcfisher.blogspot.com/
  19. Tabbies in Tow http://www.tabbiesintow.blogspot.com/
  20. Ted Cross Blog http://tedacross.blogspot.com/
  21. Texpatica (added February 2014) http://texpatica.com/
  22. The B Files http://thebfilesblog.blogspot.com/
  23. The Kathmandu Diaries http://worldchump.blogspot.com/
  24. The Slow Move East http://hannahdraper.blogspot.com/
  25. Wanderings of a Cheerful Stoic http://www.cheerfulstoic.com/
  26. Where in the World am I? http://whereintheworld-stephanie.blogspot.com/
  27. World Wide Matel http://johnsonmatel.com/blog1/
  28. Worldwide Availability http://worldwideavailability.wordpress.com/
  29. You Can Call Me Al http://alcaniglia.blogspot.com/

USAID Foreign Service Officers

These are the personal journal blogs of Foreign Service officers with the U.S. Agency for International Development.

  1. Address Unknown (added April 2014) http://www.usaidaddressunknown.blogspot.com/
  2. Amy Gottleib Photography and Blog http://amygottlieb.net/
  3. The Americans WILL Come! (added June 2013) theamericanswillcome.blogspot.com/
  4. WoodLand Travels www.woodlandtravels.blogspot.com/

FCS Foreign Service Officers

These are the personal journal blogs of Foreign Service officers with the Foreign Commercial Service.

  1. Global American Technology Alliance (added March 2014) http://intlalliances.wordpress.com/

State Department Foreign Service Specialists

These are the personal journal blogs of Foreign Service Specialists.

  1. 110 to 220 http://www.110to220.com/
  2. Are We There Yet? http://blog.travelpod.com/members/tlvice
  3. Foreign Service Specialist http://foreignservicespecialist.blogspot.com/
  4. Gwen's Adventures in the Foreign Service http://gwensadventuresintheforeignservice.wordpress.com
  5. Inflight Movie http://inflightmovie.wordpress.com
  6. My Journey to Join the U.S. Foreign Service (added April 2013) http://www.fmgrawburg.com/
  7. NP Worldview http://npworldview.blogspot.com/
  8. Phenomenal Phnews (added June 2013) http://internationalcover.blogspot.com/
  9. The Accidental Diplomat http://accidentaldiplomat.wordpress.com
  10. The OpSec Blog http://opsecblog.wordpress.com/

Foreign Service Spouses and Partners

The spouses and partners of the Foreign Service make terrific bloggers! Their posts contain interesting stories and observations from their everyday lives that demonstrate how cultural differences affect the FS family while abroad. For those applicants considering what impact FS life would have upon their spouse or partner, these blogs will provide a wealth of insight on managing careers, raising children abroad, handling moves and dealing with the other challenges of FS life. They will also provide candid, first-hand accounts of the opportunities that FS life has opened up for the bloggers.

  1. A Daring Adventure http://adaringadventure.typepad.com/
  2. A Diplomat's Wife http://adiplomatswife.wordpress.com/
  3. Adventures by Aaron http://adventuresbyaaron.blogspot.com/
  4. Beyond Kimchee http://beyondkimchee.blogspot.com/
  5. Beyond the Cornfields http://beyondthecornfields.blogspot.com/
  6. Crafty Foreign Service http://thecraftyforeignservice.blogspot.com/
  7. DiploDad (added February 2014) http://diplodad.com/
  8. Diplomatic Baggage http://diplowife.wordpress.com/
  9. DP's Blog http://davepernal.com/
  10. E-mail From the Embassy http://emailfromtheembassy.blogspot.com/
  11. En Route to Nowhere http://mashawna.blogspot.com/
  12. Fighting the War at Home (added August 2013) http://fightingthewarathome.wordpress.com/
  13. From the Back of Beyond http://fromthebackofbeyond.wordpress.com/
  14. Global Bayou Girl http://globalbayougirl.blogspot.com/
  15. Hot Pot http://hotpotdc.wordpress.com/
  16. Inner Beauty http://looksattheheart.blogspot.com/
  17. Just US http://csamto.blogspot.com/
  18. La Vie Overseas http://lavieoverseas.com/
  19. Lindsey Mae's Blog http://lindseymaesmith.blogspot.com/
  20. Moppyseed Puffin http://www.moppyseedpuffin.blogspot.com/
  21. Most Eligible Family http://mosteligiblefamily.blogspot.com/
  22. Novakistan http://www.novakistan.com/
  23. Place2place http://place2place.blogs.com/
  24. Reflections From A Global Nomad (added May 2013) http://deborahreflections.blogspot.com/
  25. Schlink Attack (added February 2014) http://emlovesbeer.blogspot.com/
  26. She Traveled Far (added March 2014) http://www.shetraveledfar.com/
  27. Small Bits http://smallbitsfs.blogspot.com/
  28. Something Edited This Way Comes http://somethingedited.blogspot.com/
  29. Spectrummy Mummy http://spectrummymummy.wordpress.com/
  30. Stumble Abroad http://stumbleabroad.net/
  31. The Perlman Update http://theperlmanupdate.blogspot.com/
  32. The World That We Live In http://www.theworldthatwelivein.com/
  33. Toddle Joy: The Joys of Toddling in Siam and Beyond http://toddlejoy.com/
  34. Trailing Husband http://trailing-husband.blogspot.com/
  35. Tuk & Tam http://tukytam.blogspot.com/
  36. Well, That Was Different http://wellthatwasdifferent.wordpress.com/
  37. Wife Mommy Woman: In that Order http://wifemommywoman.blogspot.com/

Both Spouses

The both-spouses approach is a popular way for FS couples to communicate their shared experiences. Some of these bloggers are 'tandem couples,' meaning that both the husband and the wife are Foreign Service employees. Their blogs provide two different perspectives on life at their post, as well as insight on the challenges and opportunities that the FS has presented in their relationships.

  1. Abu Halen (posted February 2014) http://abuhalen.blogspot.com/
  2. Criplomats http://www.criplomats.com/ (tandem)
  3. Cyberbones http://cyberbones.blogspot.com/
  4. Diplomatic Mom: My Journey as a FSO, Wife and Mom http://diplomaticmom.blogspot.com/
  5. Grawburg 2009 http://grawburg2009.blogspot.com/
  6. Hello Talalay http://hellotalalay.blogspot.com/
  7. Masha and Jeremy went to Afghanistan http://mashaandjeremy.blogspot.com/
  8. Next Stop.....the World! (added February 2014) http://blog.debandrichard.com/
  9. Nick and Liz Go Global http://nickandlizgoglobal.blogspot.com/
  10. Pierson Peregrinations (added April 2013) http://www.foreignpiersons.blogspot.com/
  11. Short Term Memory http://stmemory.wordpress.com/
  12. The Más Allá http://themasalla.wordpress.com/
  13. Towels Packed, Will Travel http://www.towelspacked.wordpress.com
  14. Travel Orders http://www.travelorders.com/
  15. Two Crabs http://twocrabs.blogs.com/
  16. Vladi-What?? http://tegucigalpawhat.blogspot.com/
  17. Where to Next? http://mashaandjeremy.blogspot.com/

Foreign Service Families

The family newsletter is a popular form of blogging for FS employees and family members. The family sets up a collective blog to provide an account of their lives for friends and family back home. The FS employee and spouse are usually the main bloggers, with FS kids writing the occasional post. These blogs provide first-hand accounts of family life abroad and raising children in the FS.

  1. A Fisher Out of Water http://chickenflag.blogspot.com/
  2. By the Where? http://www.bythewhere.com/
  3. Elise and Paul +2 http://eliseandpaul.blogspot.com/
  4. Globehoppers http://globehoppers.us/
  5. Kids with Diplomatic Immunity http://kidswithdiplomaticimmunity.wordpress.com/
  6. Lees on the Go http://www.leesonthego.blogspot.com/
  7. Monestel Family Odyssey http://monestelfamily.blogspot.com/
  8. Noble Glomads: Life of an FSO Family http://nickandlizgoglobal.blogspot.com/
  9. Our "Orient Express" http://loveslaughsandlavender.blogspot.com/
  10. Our Life: From My Point of View http://benily.blogspot.com/
  11. Our Yuppie Life http://ouryuppielife.blogspot.com/
  12. Pulling Stakes http://pullingstakes.blogspot.com/
  13. Rambles and Ruminations http://ramblesandruminations.blogspot.com/
  14. Sherwood Family Nonsense http://sherwoodfamilynonsense.blogspot.com/
  15. Ten and Soprano http://www.tenandsoprano.com/
  16. The Blanchard Family http://teamblanchard.blogspot.com/
  17. The Briden Bunch http://thebridenbunch.blogspot.com/
  18. The McGee Family http://mcgeefamilyblog.blogspot.com/
  19. The Rhodes Family http://rhodesfamilyupdate.blogspot.com/
  20. The Wandering Drays http://thewanderingdrays.blogspot.com/
  21. Third Culture Children http://3rdculturechildren.wordpress.com/
  22. Whale Ears and Other Wonderings http://whaleears.blogspot.com/
  23. Yo Ali http://yoali.blogspot.com/

News and Opinion with a Foreign Service Bent

These bloggers synthesize and analyze all the news pertaining to Foreign Service life and U.S. foreign policy. They carefully search through news Web sites, press releases and other Foreign Service blogs to find relevant stories.

  1. The DiploMad 2.0 http://thediplomad.blogspot.com/
  2. DiploPundit http://diplopundit.net/
  3. Foreign Policy | The Cable http://thecable.foreignpolicy.com/
  4. John Brown's Public Diplomacy Press and Blog Review, Version 2.0 http://publicdiplomacypressandblogreview.blogspot.com/
  5. The Skeptical Bureaucrat http://skepticalbureaucrat.blogspot.com/
  6. The World According to Bill Fisher http://www.billfisher.blogspot.com/
  7. WhirledView http://whirledview.typepad.com/

Resources for Unaccompanied Tours

What exactly will it be like when you arrive in Kabul? What challenges will you face in Baghdad? What will all this mean for your family back home? These blogs are accounts of unaccompanied tours from the FS employees who have 'been there, done that.' They offer candid insights and helpful advice on living and working in challenging conditions.

  1. Foggy Bottom Rambles http://foggybottomrambles.blogspot.com/ (Family Liaison Office blog for unaccompanied tours)
  2. The Perlman Update http://theperlmanupdate.blogspot.com/ (Jill is currently living in California while her husband is on a one-year tour in Iraq)

Retiree Blogs

Former members of the Foreign Service have an entire career's worth of insights on U.S. foreign policy and the internal politics of the countries in which they served. Many of them write high-quality, well-researched posts that provide commentary on current world events. Others reflect upon their experiences as U.S. diplomats.

  1. Africa Reflections (added June 2013) http://rwandakenya.blogspot.com/
  2. Diplo Denizen http://jameslbruno.blogspot.com/
  3. The DiploMad 2.0 http://thediplomad.blogspot.com/
  4. Globetrotting with Uncle Sam http://globetrottingwithunclesam.blogspot.com/
  5. Joe Bruns (added October 2013) http://jbbruns.blogspot.com/
  6. John Brown's Public Diplomacy Press and Blog Review, Version 2.0 http://publicdiplomacypressandblogreview.blogspot.com/
  7. The Military Philosopher http://militaryphilosopher.blogspot.com/
  8. The World According to Bill Fisher http://www.billfisher.blogspot.com/
  9. WhirledView http://whirledview.typepad.com/
  10. Winnowing Fan http://www.winnowingfan.org/

Critical Blogs

These are blogs that discuss topics related to the Foreign Service from a more critical perspective.

  1. The Will and the Wallet http://thewillandthewallet.squarespace.com/
  2. U.S. Trade & Aid Monitor http://www.tradeaidmonitor.com/
  3. We Meant Well http://www.wemeantwell.com (deals with a variety of foreign policy issues)

Miscellaneous Blogs

  1. eDiplomat http://www.ediplomat.com/
  2. It's Always Sunny in Kabul http://findingmytribe.me/

Foreign Service Hiring and Career

  1. Foreign Service Test (added April 2013) http://www.foreignservicetest.com/