Post Rep of the Year

AFSA Post Representative of the Year

AFSA post representatives must fulfill several important functions at overseas posts, including conveying the concerns of members at post back to the AFSA leadership, negotiating with post management on those concerns and other matters affecting the conditions of work for the Foreign Service employees there, and serving as an information conduit on AFSA’s advocacy activities to members at post.  It is awarded to an AFSA post representative who has exhibited significant and extraordinary commitment and activism in representing AFSA at an overseas post. They must have demonstrated high visibility and efficiency, pursued vigorous and constructive relations with post management, and acted as an effective conduit of information between AFSA, Washington, and employees as post.

Please nominate a deserving post rep at your post. Any questions about the award should be directed to AFSA's Coordinator for Special Awards and Outreach Perri Green at or (202) 719-9700. The nomination deadline is February 28 each year.

Left: 2011 recipient Larry Fields at the ceremony with then-AFSA President Susan R. Johnson
Right: 2010 recipient James Fox accepts his certificate

Connect! facebook youtube twitter flickr email

Previous Recipients


  • Jeff Jacob (Embassy Kabul)


  • Larry Fields (Embassy Kathmandu)


  • James Fox (U.S. Mission to NATO)


  • Ken Kero-Mentz (Embassy Berlin)


  • Julie Eadeh (Embassy Baghdad)


  • David Jesser (Embassy Pretoria)
  • Randy J. Kreft (Embassy Moscow)


  • Cecile Shea (Embassy Tel Aviv)