President Obama’s Second-Term Ambassadorial Nominations


Updated April 15, 2014

Political: 42/52.5%
Career: 38/47.5%

Political Nominations
Reuben Brigety African Union confirmed
Noah Mamet Argentina nominated
Nina Hachigan ASEAN nominated
John Berry Australia confirmed
Alexa Wesner Austria confirmed
Cassandra Q. Butts The Bahamas nominated
Denise Bauer Belgium confirmed
Carlos Moreno Belize nominated
Bruce Heyman Canada confirmed
Max Sieben Baucus China confirmed
Andrew Schapiro Czech Republic nominated
Rufus Gifford Denmark confirmed
James Brewster Dominican Republic confirmed
Anthony Luzzatto Gardner European Union confirmed
John Emerson Germany confirmed
Ken Hackett Holy See confirmed
Colleen Bradley Bell Hungary nominated
Michael A. Lawson ICAO nominated
Robert C. Barber Iceland nominated
John Phillips Italy/San Marino confirmed
Caroline Kennedy Japan confirmed
Dwight L. Bush, Sr. Morocco confirmed
Douglas Lute NATO confirmed
Timothy Broas Netherlands confirmed
Mark Gilbert New Zealand and Samoa nominated
George J. Tsunis Norway nominated
Daniel Yohannes OECD confirmed
Daniel Brooks Baer OSCE confirmed
Robert A. Sherman Portugal confirmed
Joseph W. Westphal Saudi Arabia confirmed
Kirk Wagar Singapore confirmed
Patrick Gaspard South Africa confirmed
James Costos Spain/Andorra confirmed
Suzi LeVine Switzerland & Liechtenstein nominated
Mark Childress Tanzania confirmed
John Estrada Trinidad & Tobago nominated
Pamela K. Hamamoto UN/Geneva nominated
Crystal Nix-Hines UNESCO nominated
Matthew Winthrop Barzun United Kingdom confirmed
Samantha Power United Nations confirmed
Keith Harper United Nations/Human Rights Council nominated
Career Nominations
Donald Lu Albania nominated
Helen M. La Lime Angola nominated
Maureen Cormack Bosnia & Herzegovina nominated
Liliana Ayalde Brazil confirmed
Tulinabo Mushingi Burkina Faso confirmed
Michael Hoza Cameroon nominated
James Knight Chad confirmed
Michael Hammer Chile confirmed
Kevin Whitaker Colombia confirmed
Terence McCulley Cote d'Ivoire confirmed
James Swan Democratic Republic of the Congo confirmed
Thomas P. Kelly Djibouti nominated
Patricia Haslach Ethiopia confirmed
Cynthia Akuetteh Gabon & São Tomé & Principe nominated
David Pearce Greece confirmed
Robert Blake Indonesia confirmed
Luis Moreno Jamaica nominated
Alice Wells Jordan nominated
Douglas A. Silliman Kuwait nominated
Daniel Clune Laos confirmed
David Hale Lebanon confirmed
Matthew T. Harrington Lesotho nominated
Deborah Kay Jones Libya confirmed
Joseph Yun Malaysia confirmed
Larry E. Andre Mauritania nominated
James Entwistle Nigeria confirmed
Thomas Daughton Namibia nominated
Eunice Reddick Niger nominated
Amy J. Hyatt Palau nominated
Brian Nichols Peru nominated
Philip Goldberg Philippines confirmed
Stephanie Sanders Sullivan Republic of the Congo confirmed
John Hoover Sierra Leone nominated
Karen Stanton Timor-Leste nominated
Geoffrey Pyatt Ukraine confirmed
Robert A. Wood United Nations/Conference on Disarmament nominated
Matthew Tueller Yemen confirmed
Eric T. Schultz Zambia nominated

Questions, comments, corrections? Let us know!

Information taken from and