Page 50 - proof

This is a SEO version of proof. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
48
F O R E I G N S E R V I C E J O U R N A L / J A N U A R Y 2 0 1 2
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
“SERVING ABROAD ... THROUGH THEIR EYES”
In 2012, the Department of Defense and the Department of State
will recognize and celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Office of
ART in Embassies (art.state.gov) through a collaborative photogra-
phy exhibition, “Serving Abroad ... Through Their Eyes.” The exhi-
bition will serve as a visual record of the experiences of U.S.
military and Foreign Service members while abroad. The images —
captured from their daily lives showing friendship, places, faces,
loss or triumph — will bring their personal perspective and voice to
a global audience.
Each photograph submitted may be one of up to a thousand se-
lected for display in numerous venues, including the Smithsonian
American Art Museum, the Pentagon and other prominent loca-
tions. Submissions will be accepted through Presidents’ Day, Feb.
20. For full rules and instructions on how to submit an image,
please visit
www.ourmilitary.mil. A
panel of noted American ex-
perts will review the photographs and announce the selections on
Armed Forces Day, May 19, 2012. The 10 “best in show” photogra-
phers will be invited to Washington, D.C., where they will partici-
pate in the exhibition’s November VIP opening celebration.
AFSA National High School Essay Contest
AFSA launched the 2012 National High School Essay Contest
on Nov. 15, 2011. This marks the 14th year AFSA has adminis-
tered this outreach program, which attracts entries from all over
the United States.
The goal of the contest is to help educate and familiarize
high school students with foreign affairs and the Foreign Service,
in particular. Students are required to write an essay on how
they, as a diplomat, would improve U.S. relations with selected
countries and the United Nations. The winner receives $2,500;
an all-expenses-paid trip toWashington, D.C., with their parents
to meet the Secretary of State; and a fully funded educational
voyage on Semester at Sea.
The program is generously sponsored by Booz Allen Hamil-
ton and Semester at Sea.
The AFSA National High School Essay contest is open to all
U.S. citizen high school students. Children of employees of
AFSA, Booz Allen Hamilton, Semester at Sea or the U.S. Foreign
Service are not eligible. Please direct high school students you
may know to our Web site at
www.afsa.org\essaycontest for
this
exciting opportunity. Deadline is April 15.
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy Edward Dickens:
dickens@afsa.org
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Road Scholar Administrator Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and IT Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Mary Glantz
Les Hickman
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson
The Col. Arthur D. Simons Center for the Study of Interagency
Cooperation is sponsoring a nationwide InteragencyWriting Compe-
tition. This contest is open to the public and recognizes papers that
provide insight and fresh thinking in advancing the knowledge, under-
standing and practice of interagency coordination, cooperation and
collaboration at the tactical or operational level.
Participants are encouraged to submit papers focused on one of
two special topics: The interagency role in preventing conflict when
dealing with failing or failed states; or the validity of the “whole of gov-
ernment” approach in dealing with the full range of homeland and
national security threats.
First-place winners will receive a certificate, an engraved plaque
and a $2,000 cash award, along with inclusion in one of the Simons
Center’s publications. Second- and third-place winners will receive
$1,000 and $500 cash awards, respectively. A panel of judges will eval-
uate the entries on originality, substance of argument, style and contri-
bution to advancing the understanding and practice of interagency
cooperation at the operational and tactical levels.
Manuscripts may be submitted through the Simons CenterWeb site
at
www.TheSimonsCenter.org/competition or
e-mailed to
editor@TheSimonsCenter.org wi
th the subject line“InteragencyWriting
Competition.” The deadline for submitting papers is Friday,March 16.
INTERAGENCY WRITING COMPETITION