Page 50 - FSJ_Jan2013_Complete

This is a SEO version of FSJ_Jan2013_Complete. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
On Nov. 28, Senator Richard
Lugar, R-Ind., was honored
at a small luncheon at AFSA
headquarters. The associa-
tion presented him with a
plaque in appreciation for
his steadfast support of
the Foreign Service and for
bipartisanship in our foreign
Senator Lugar, who is the
senior Republican on the
Senate Foreign Relations
Committee and former com-
mittee chairman, is leaving
the Senate after 36 years of
public service, during which
time he became nationally
known as a leader in for-
GLIFAA, Continued from page 43
Top, Left to Right: Chief of Staf Cheryl Mills,
GLIFAA President Ken Kero-Mentz, USAID Deputy
Administrator Donald Steinberg and Deputy
Assistant Secretary Daniel Baer listen as Secretary
Hillary Rodham Clinton addresses the audience.
Bottom, Left to Right: AFSA State VP Daniel
Hirsch and AFSA President Susan Johnson
congratulate GLIFAA co-founder David Buss on the
organization’s 20 years of successful advocacy.
Counselor and Chief of
Staf Cheryl Mills, USAID
Deputy Administrator Donald
Steinberg and GLIFAA Presi-
dent Ken Kero-Mentz deliv-
ered remarks. Congressman
David Cicilline, D-RI, GLIFAA
co-founder David Buss and
Deputy Assistant Secretary
Daniel Baer also participated
in the program.  
A brief personal history of
what it meant to be gay in the
Foreign Service, knowing you
could be fred at any moment
for who you loved, came from
David Buss, GLIFAA’s co-
founder. He ended the pro-
gram on a poignant note, “I
can’t believe that we are here
in this room, 20 years after
we got together for brunch
and founded GLIFAA. It’s an
unbelievable feeling.”
eign afairs issues. He was
awarded AFSA’s Lifetime
Contributions to American
Diplomacy Award in 2005.
AFSA Recognizes Sen. Richard Lugar for Support of FS
Above, left to right: AFSA Governing
Board member Mary Ellen Gilroy,
Amb. Margaret Scobey, AFSA
Governing Board member Keith
Curtis, AFSA Executive Director Ian
Houston, Sen. Richard Lugar, Amb.
Bill Harrop, AFSA President Susan
Johnson, Amb. Frank Almaguer,
Amb. Thomas Boyatt and Amb.
Charles Ford.