Page 34 - proof

This is a SEO version of proof. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
Last Call for Dissent and Performance
Award Nominations
Please consider nominating an outstanding member of the For-
eign Service for one of AFSA’s prestigious awards for constructive
dissent and exemplary performance. Anyone may nominate an FS
employee who has shown courage by challenging policy or the sys-
tem or has made an extraordinary difference in the lives of others.
All winners receive a $2,500 cash prize and are honored at a cere-
mony in the State Department in late June. Nomination deadline
is Feb. 28. For forms and more information, please go to
www.afsa.org/awards or
contact Perri Green, Coordinator for Spe-
cial Awards and Outreach, at
green@afsa.org or
(202) 719-9700.
AFSA Welcomes Spring Interns
AFSA is pleased to welcome a new group of interns who will be
with us during the spring semester. The new
Foreign Service
Journal
editorial intern is David Barton, a recent graduate of
James Madison University. The advertising intern is Claudia
Gerkin, a student at the HAN University of Applied Sciences in
Arnhem, the Netherlands. The communications, marketing and
outreach intern is Paul Carter, a graduate of Boston University,
and the legislative affairs intern is Christy Nguyen, a student at
American University.
We also thank our departed fall semester interns for their hard
work and dedication: Laura Pettinelli, Liron Feldman, Minh-
Nhat “Leo” Tran and Harsh Govil.
FLO’s Global Employment Initiative for
Family Members Wins Top Honors
The Global Employment Initiative of the State Depart-
ment’s Family Liaison Office is making a name for itself.
On Nov. 4, GEI received the Best Family Support Pro-
gramAward (for Europe) from the Forum for Expatriate
Management.
The GEI program faced stiff competition from the
World Bank Family Network, U.S. Girl Scouts Overseas
and the United Nations, among others. Designed to help
Foreign Service family members develop their career and
employment options while overseas, GEI’s award-win-
ning services include resumé help, interviewing tips, net-
working assistance (where available) and career coaching.
For family members of direct-hire government employ-
ees serving overseas who would like more information on
GEI, please e-mail
gei@state.gov.
32
F O R E I G N S E R V I C E J O U R N A L / F E B R U A R Y 2 0 1 2
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Appreciation: Robert J. Wozniak Sr.
A
FSA is saddened to learn of the passing of Robert Wozniak, a good
friend and strong supporter of AFSA. Bob died from cancer on Nov. 13.
A native of Michigan, Bob started out as a journalist and joined the U.S.
Information Agency in the early 1960s. He served at U.S. diplomatic posts
around the world, including Athens, Damascus, Rabat, Nicosia and NATO
headquarters in Brussels. He retired from the Foreign Service in 1996 fol-
lowing a management position at the Voice of America, and spent a number
of years as a Diplomat-in-Residence at American University’s Center for
Global Peace. His postings in Mediterranean countries piqued Bob’s interest
in antiquities, leading to his service on the board of the Cyprus American
Archaeology Research Institute.
AFSA will remember Bob fondly from his time as chairman of the AFSA
Elections Committee from 1999-2007. AFSA Executive Director Ian Houston
comments: “Bob was a wonderful supporter of AFSA through the years.
He made excellent contributions on the election front as chair of the com-
mittee, but he also contributed his time and talents to the organization in
so many other ways. We will surely miss him.”
AFSA extends its condolences to Bob’s wife Farida, his children Lisa, Robert,
Leila and Farid, and his surviving brothers and grandchildren.
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy Edward Dickens:
dickens@afsa.org
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and IT Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Les Hickman
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson