Page 63 - FSJ_03_12

This is a SEO version of FSJ_03_12. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
M A R C H 2 0 1 2 / F O R E I G N S E R V I C E J O U R N A L
61
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Upcoming AFSA Events
Member of Congress:
On Thursday, March 8, at 4 p.m., AFSA will welcome Rep. Chris Van
Hollen, D-Md., to discuss the congressional climate for the upcoming foreign affairs budget
cycle. Having grown up as a Foreign Service child, the congressman will also talk about his
personal connection to the Foreign Service. Rep. Van Hollen has been a tremendous supporter
of the Foreign Service on Capitol Hill, and we look forward to hearing his views. This event is
part of our Booz Allen Hamilton-sponsored lecture series, “A New Frontier in Diplomacy and
Development: People and Programs.”
AFSA Book Notes:
On Monday, March 19 at 2 p.m., we will present the first AFSA Book
Notes selection of 2012. The book is
China Hand: An Autobiography
, by John Paton Davies Jr.
At the height of the McCarthyite hysteria of the 1950s, Davies, a career diplomat, was sum-
moned to the State Department one morning and fired. His offense? During World War II, he
advised the U.S. government of his belief that Communist Chinese forces were poised to take
over the country — which they ultimately did in 1949. Davies and thousands of others became
the victims of a political maelstrom that engulfed the country and deprived the United States
of the wisdom and guidance of an entire generation of East Asian diplomats and scholars.
Mr. Davies died in 1999; Patricia Davies, his daughter, will discuss the book and her father’s
career. She will be accompanied by Todd Purdum, national editor at
Vanity Fair
, who wrote the
foreword to the book. Copies will be available for purchase.
Both events will take place at AFSA, 2101 E Street NW, Washington, D.C. We request that
anyone interested in attending RSVP to
events@afsa.org.
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy Edward Dickens:
dickens@afsa.org
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and IT Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Les Hickman
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson
Thank You, Ambassador Dillery
AFSA extends its deep appreciation and gratitude to Ambassa-
dor C. Edward Dillery for his dedicated service to the association.
In January, Amb. Dillery stepped down as chairman of the AFSA
Scholarship Committee after 14 years of service. (Please see Amb.
Dillery’s article on the AFSA Scholarship Program on page 34.)
Over the course of a 38-year career in the Foreign Service, Amb.
Dillery served in Japan, Belgium, Vietnam, England, Cyprus and
Washington, D.C., before being appointed U.S. ambassador to Fiji
(1984-1987). After retiring, he served for two years as the AFSA
vice president for retirees and taught several AFSA-sponsored
Elderhostel (now Road Scholar) courses before taking up the
Scholarship Committee chairmanship in 1997.
New Scholarship Committee Chair
During its January meeting, the AFSA Scholarship Committee
selected Ambassador Lange Schermerhorn as the new chair.
Amb. Schermerhorn entered the Foreign Service in 1966 and retired
in 2001 after 35 years of service. She was deputy chief of mission
in Belgium and served as ambassador to Djibouti (1998-2000),
among many other assignments. Amb. Schermerhorn has served
as treasurer of Diplomatic and Consular Officers Retired and as a
member of DACOR’s education committee. She has also served
on the Foreign Service Journal Editorial Board. AFSA is proud to
welcome Amb. Schermerhorn as chairwoman of the AFSA Scholar-
ship Committee.
Flannery Scholarship
Established for
2012-2013
Mrs. Laurence Flannery has established
The Terence Flannery Memorial Financial
Aid Scholarship in honor of her late husband.
The 2012-2013 scholarship is a one-time-only,
need-based award that will be given to the child
of a Foreign Service employee to assist in meet-
ing his or her undergraduate college expenses.
Mr. Flannery joined the Foreign Commercial
Service in 1984. His first overseas posting was
Paris, where Mrs. Flannery continues to reside.
In 1997, Mr. Flannery retired from the Foreign
Service, and resumed a private-sector career in
Paris and Brussels. He passed away in 2009.
For information on AFSA Scholarships,
please contact Scholarship Director Lori Dec
at
dec@afsa.org or
(202) 944-5504.