Background Image
Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  6 / 88 Next Page
Basic version Information
Show Menu
Previous Page 6 / 88 Next Page
Page Background

6

MARCH 2015

|

THE FOREIGN SERVICE JOURNAL

Editor

Shawn Dorman:

dorman@afsa.org

Managing Editor

Susan Brady Maitra:

maitra@afsa.org

Associate Editor

Debra Blome:

blome@afsa.org

Editorial/Publications Specialist

Brittany DeLong:

delong@afsa.org

Ad & Circulation Manager

Ed Miltenberger:

miltenberger@afsa.org

Art Director

Caryn Suko Smith

Editorial Intern

Shannon Mizzi

Advertising Interns

Allan Saunders, William Read

Contributing Editor

Steven Alan Honley

Editorial Board

Jim DeHart, Chairman

Hon. Gordon S. Brown

Stephen W. Buck

Ruth M. Hall

Maria C. Livingston

Richard McKee

Beth Payne

John G. Rendeiro Jr.

Duncan Walker

Tracy Whittington

Chuck Fee (AFSA Governing Board liaison)

THE MAGAZINE FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS

PROFESSIONALS

The Foreign Service Journal

(ISSN 0146-3543), 2101 E

Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037-2990 is pub-

lished monthly, with combined January-February and

July-August issues, by the American Foreign Service

Association (AFSA), a private, nonprofit organization.

Material appearing herein represents the opinions of the

writers and does not necessarily represent the views of

the

Journal

, the Editorial Board or AFSA. Writer queries

and submissions are invited, preferably by email. The

Journal

is not responsible for unsolicited manuscripts,

photos or illustrations. Advertising inquiries are invited.

All advertising is subject to the publisher’s approval.

AFSA reserves the right to reject advertising that is not

in keeping with its standards and objectives. The appear-

ance of advertisements herein does not imply endorse-

ment of goods or services offered. Opinions expressed in

advertisements are the views of the advertisers and do

not necessarily represent AFSA views or policy.

Journal

subscription: AFSA member–$20, included in annual

dues; student–$30; institution–$40; others–$50; Single

issue–$4.50. For foreign surface mail, add $18 per year;

foreign airmail, $36 per year. Periodical postage paid

at Washington, D.C., and at additional mailing offices.

Indexed by the Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS).

Email:

journal@afsa.org

Phone:

(202) 338-4045

Fax:

(202) 338-8244

Web:

www.afsa.org/fsj

© American Foreign Service Association, 2015

PRINTED IN THE U.S.A.

Postmaster: Send address changes to

AFSA

Attn: Address Change

2101 E Street NW

Washington DC 20037-2990

AFSA Headquarters:

(202) 338-4045; Fax (202) 338-6820

State Department AFSA Office:

(202) 647-8160; Fax (202) 647-0265

USAID AFSA Office:

(202) 712-1941; Fax (202) 216-3710

FCS AFSA Office:

(202) 482-9088; Fax (202) 482-9087

GOVERNING BOARD

President

Robert J. Silverman:

silverman@afsa.org

Secretary

Angela Dickey:

ardickey@aol.com

Treasurer

Hon. Charles A. Ford:

ford@afsa.org

State Vice President

Matthew K. Asada:

asadam@state.gov

USAID Vice President

Sharon Wayne:

swayne@usaid.gov

FCS Vice President

Steve Morrison:

Steve.Morrison@trade.gov

FAS Vice President

David Mergen:

david.mergen@fas.usda.gov

Retiree Vice President

Lawrence Cohen: lawrencecohenassociates@

hotmail.com

State Representatives

Ronnie Catipon

Todd Crawford

Chuck Fee

Neeru Lal

Ken Kero-Mentz

Ronita Macklin

Elise Mellinger

Homeyra Mokhtarzada

Nancy Rios-Brooks

Daniel Spokojny

USAID Representatives

Jeri Dible

Jeffrey Cochrane

FCS Representative

William Kutson

FAS Representative

Mark Petry

BBG Representative

Andre de Nesnera

APHIS Representative

Mark C. Prescott

Retiree Representatives

Marshall Adair

Hon. David Greenlee

F. Allen “Tex” Harris

Hon. Edward Marks

STAFF

Executive Director

Ian Houston:

houston@afsa.org

Executive Assistant

Patrick Bradley:

bradley@afsa.org

BUSINESS DEPARTMENT

Director of Finance

Femi Oshobukola:

oshobukola@afsa.org

Controller

Kalpna Srimal:

srimal@afsa.org

Assistant Controller

Cory Nishi:

cnishi@afsa.org

LABOR MANAGEMENT

General Counsel

Sharon Papp:

PappS@state.gov

Deputy General Counsel

Zlatana Badrich:

BadrichZ@state.gov

Labor Management Specialist

James Yorke:

YorkeJ@state.gov

Senior Staff Attorney

Neera Parikh:

ParikhNA@state.gov

Staff Attorney

Raeka Safai:

SafaiR@state.gov

Staff Attorney

Andrew Large:

LargeA@state.gov

Labor Management Counselor

Colleen Fallon-Lenaghan:

FallonLenaghanC@state.gov

Labor Management Assistant

Jason Snyder:

SnyderJ@state.gov

Executive Assistant

Lindsey Botts:

BottsLK@state.gov

USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser

Douglas Broome:

dbroome@usaid.gov

USAID Staff Assistant

Chioma Dike:

cdike@afsa.org

MEMBER SERVICES

Member Services Director

Janet Hedrick:

hedrick@afsa.org

Membership Representative

Natalie Cheung:

cheung@afsa.org

Retiree Counselor

Todd Thurwachter:

thurwachter@afsa.org

Coordinator, Retiree Counseling

and Legislation

Matthew Sumrak:

sumrak@afsa.org

Administrative Assistant and Office Manager

Ana Lopez:

lopez@afsa.org

COMMUNICATIONS

Director of Communications

Kristen Fernekes:

fernekes@afsa.org

Director of New Media

Ásgeir Sigfússon:

sigfusson@afsa.org

Publications Manager

Shawn Dorman:

dorman@afsa.org

Online Communications Specialist

Jeff Lau:

lau@afsa.org

Special Awards and Outreach Coordinator

Perri Green:

green@afsa.org

Communications and Press Specialist

VACANT

ADVOCACY

Advocacy Director

Javier Cuebas:

cuebas@afsa.org

Senior Legislative Assistant

David Murimi:

murimi@afsa.org

Professional Issues and Policy Adviser

Janice Weiner:

weiner@afsa.org

SCHOLARSHIPS

Scholarship Director

Lori Dec:

dec@afsa.org

Scholarship Senior Associate

Jonathan Crawford:

crawford@afsa.org

FOREIGN

SERVICE

CONTACTS

www.afsa.org