Page 50 - Foreign Service Journal - April 2012

This is a SEO version of Foreign Service Journal - April 2012. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
50
F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / A P R I L 2 0 1 2
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Update on the AFSA
Scholarship Program
AFSA recently debuted a new online submission and judging
process for the AFSA Academic and Art Merit Awards, which are
open to high school seniors of Foreign Service members in the
United States and abroad. The new system allows students to easily
track the six components of their application, while allowing judges
to easily access each submission.
This year, 70 students submitted academic merit applications and
another 10 students applied for an art merit award. A total of
$40,500 in prizes will be bestowed on approximately 25 students.
In addition, AFSA received 109 need-based financial aid applications
for undergraduate college study in the 2012-2013 school year and,
with $183,000 in the coffers, AFSA is poised to help 70 students.
Our scholarship program is run under the oversight of the AFSA
Scholarship Committee. The Merit Award winners will be announced
at a ceremony during Foreign Affairs Day, on Friday, May 4.
Please visit
www.afsa.org/scholar for
details.
Have You Heard About Balancing Act?
Balancing Act at State: Achieving Work-Life Balance is a new
employee organization focused on a range of work-life balance
issues, including teleworking, alternative work schedules, child
care, elder care, job sharing and other policies and programs
critical for the recruitment, retention and morale of the depart-
ment’s diverse work force. For more information on upcoming
Balancing Act events, and how you can get involved, or to be
added to our distribution list, please e-mail Anne Coleman-
Honn at
colemanas@state.gov.
Third Culture Kids
On Monday, April 2, at 11:30 a.m., AFSA is proud to present a
panel discussion on Third Culture Kids, highlighting the Foreign
Service experience. Panelists Rebecca Grappo, Ruth Van Reken,
Julia Simens and Rebecca Oden, all experts who have studied TCKs
from discrete viewpoints, will devote particular attention to the
question of emotional resilience, asking what enables some kids to
adapt well to Foreign Service life while others struggle. The discus-
sion will take place at AFSA headquarters, 2101 E Street NW,
Washington, D.C., and is open to the public. Space is limited, so
please RSVP to
events@afsa.org.
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy Edward Dickens:
dickens@afsa.org
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and IT Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson
Give to the AFSA Scholarship Fund
This month, the AFSA Scholarship Fund’s annual appeal for donations will be arriving in your mailbox. Please consider making a donation
to support the Academic and Art Merit Awards program for Foreign Service high school seniors and need-based financial aid scholarships
ranging from $1,500 to $4,000 for college study. There are very few programs available that reward academic and artistic excellence at the high
school level, and that is what makes AFSA’s program so special. Our goal is to disburse more than $220,000 in aid to almost 100 Foreign
Service children. Your donation is tax deductible. For online donations and more information, please go to
www.afsa.org/scholar.