Page 41 - FSJ_May12

This is a SEO version of FSJ_May12. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
MA Y 2 0 1 2 / F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L
41
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
In Memory
On May 4, Foreign Affairs Day, Sharon S. Clark’s name will be added to
AFSA’s Memorial Plaques. If you would like to celebrate Sharon’s life, her fami-
ly suggests making donations to Africare through its secure, online Web site at
africare.safesecureweb.com/support-us/donate.php.
AAFSW Picnic
Mark your calendar for the Associates of the American Foreign Service
Worldwide annual picnic on Sunday, July 1, at the picnic shelter at Nottoway
Park, Vienna, Va. The potluck event is for couples and singles, with and without
kids. For more information, please see
www.aafsw.org.
FSYF Kayaking Adventure
Attention teens: On Saturday, Aug. 25, from 9 a.m. to 2 p.m., the Foreign
Service Youth Foundation invites you to join other recently returned to D.C.-
area FS teens for a day of kayaking on the Potomac. This is a great opportunity
to get to know kids your age. We will meet at Thompson Boat Center (on the
river near the Kennedy Center) where two groups —middle school and high
school —will kayak to Roosevelt Island and back. An experienced instructor
will lead the excursion. Please bring your own lunch and drinks. For more
details and to register, please e-mail
fsyf@fsyf.org.
AFSA Welcomes a New Staff Member
As part of ongoing efforts to increase services to our members, we are pleased to
announce a new addition to the AFSA staff. Matthew Sumrak has assumed a new
position, Associate Coordinator for Retiree Benefits and Legislation. With Matt on
board, AFSA has doubled the capacity of our retiree section.
Matt is originally from Naperville, Ill. He attended John Carroll University and is
currently studying for a master’s degree in public policy at George Mason
University. He previously worked for the Mental Health Advocacy Project in San
Jose, Calif. Matt can be reached at
sumrak@afsa.org or
(202) 944-5522.
The Associates of the American
Foreign Service Worldwide
AAFSW is a nonprofit organization that has been repre-
senting Foreign Service spouses, employees and retirees
since 1960. The association is an independent advocate
for its members, giving them a stronger voice when work-
ing on common concerns and a chance to enjoy shared
interests.
AAFSW coordinates the annual Secretary of State’s
Award for Outstanding Volunteerism Abroad, in addition
to awarding a variety of scholarships and grants aimed at
recognizing the achievements of Foreign Service employ-
ees and family members.
Each month, AAFSW offers members an event roster
covering a wide range of topics. In March, it sponsored a
panel discussion in the State Department’s Dean Acheson
Auditorium celebrating Women’s History Month. In April,
the association organized a visit to the U.S. Botanic
Garden and a discussion on human trafficking in Vietnam.
AAFSW’s Web site,
www.aafsw.org, inc
ludes a popular
classified section offering items for sale, D.C.-area housing,
and products and services available from Foreign Service
family members.
If you are an active or retired employee of a U.S. foreign
affairs agency, or an adult family member of an employee,
you are eligible for AAFSW membership. To join, go to
www.aafsw.org/join-aafsw/apply-online.
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Associate Coordinator for Retiree Benefits and Legislation Matt Sumrak:
sumrak@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy:
vacant
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and IT Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson