Page 46 - FSJ June 2012

This is a SEO version of FSJ June 2012. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
46
F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / J UN E 2 0 1 2
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
FSYF Career Planning Workshop
The Foreign Service Youth Foundation is presenting “How to Choose and Prepare a
Career for a Lifetime of Satisfaction and Success.” Nicholas Lore, an author and innovator
in the field of career design, will present the workshop on Sunday, June 24, from 2 to 3:30
p.m. in the “State Room” at the Oakwood Apartments in Falls Church, Va.
The workshop is open to rising high school juniors to college sophomores. Parents are
encouraged to attend, as well. The fee for this workshop is $10 for FSYF family members
and $30 for family non-members. To register, please e-mail
fsyf@fsyf.org no
later than
Saturday, June 16. (Please note that space is limited and payment must be received in
advance). For more information on the workshop, please see
www.rockportinstitute.com/what-career.
Donate to AFSA’s Legislative Action Fund
AFSA recently sent members a letter soliciting donations to the Legislative Action Fund.
This fund allows AFSA’s legislative office to continue its advocacy on behalf of the Foreign
Service on issues ranging from overseas comparability pay to Foreign Service pets. In addi-
tion to using the response card included in the mailing, you may also donate securely
online at
www.afsa.org/legislative_action_fund.aspx.
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Associate Coordinator for Retiree Counseling and Legislation Matt Sumrak:
sumrak@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy:
vacant
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and Graphics Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson
AFSA’s Annual Awards Ceremony
Recognizes Dissent and Performance
AFSA’s Awards Ceremony will take place on Tuesday, June 26, from 4 to 5:30 p.m.,
in the Benjamin Franklin Room of the Department of State.
This year, AFSA will honor Ambassador William L. Swing with the Lifetime
Contributions to American Diplomacy Award. Dissent and performance awards
will also be presented at the event. Profiles of the award winners will appear in the
July-August edition of
AFSA
News.
AFSAmembers and anyone with a valid State ID are welcome to attend the
ceremony. The event will begin promptly at 4 p.m. Please arrive in the Benjamin
Franklin Room no later than 3:55 p.m.
Welcome to the 2012
AFSA/TLG Intern
For 20 years, AFSA and the Thursday Luncheon
Group have jointly sponsored a minority college
student for a summer internship at the
Department of State. This year’s AFSA/TLG intern
is Angela Addae.
Angela is a graduate student enrolled in a Ph.D.
program in sociology at the University of Arizona.
She has a bachelor’s degree in sociology from Fisk
University. A native of Vicksburg, Miss., Angela’s
accomplishments include a two-year Mellon-Mays
Undergraduate Fellowship and a semester abroad
in Ghana, during which she volunteered as a men-
tor for children who had been the victims of traf-
ficking and child labor.
Angela will spend the summer working in the
Bureau of South and Central Asian Affairs. AFSA
and TLG very much appreciate the role SCA/INSB
has played in hosting the AFSA/TLG intern in the
last few years, and we hope to continue that part-
nership for years to come. Angela’s stipend of
$2,250 will help defray living costs during her time
inWashington. AFSA and TLG will also provide
her with social and networking opportunities dur-
ing the summer.
The V.P. Voice column by FCSVPKeith Curtis
on page 44 of the May print edition of
AFSA
News
was inadvertently identified as USAID.
Correction:
In the article, “Traveling with Our Pets,” on page 47 of the May issue of
AFSANews
, please note thatUnitedAirlineswill charge its PetSafe (cargo) rate—NOT
the quoted $250 rate— for a pet and kennel with a combinedweight of less than 99.9
lbs. that is traveling as accompanied baggage in the cargo hold.