Page 50 - FSJ - 070812

This is a SEO version of FSJ - 070812. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
50
F OR E I GN S E R V I C E J OU R N A L / J U L Y - A UGU S T 2 0 1 2
A
F
S
A
N
E
W
S
AFSA Welcomes New Interns
The change of season brings yet another crop of dynamic young
interns to AFSA. We are thrilled to welcome the summer 2012 class!
Eva M.A. Moss is the new
Foreign Service Journal
Editorial Intern.
She is a rising sophomore at the University of the South in Sewanee,
Tenn., and the daughter of a recently retired Foreign Service employ-
ee. (Advertising Intern Claudia Gerken will remain with AFSA through
August.)
Beth Romagnoli is the new Communications, Marketing and
Outreach Intern. A senior at Franklin College Switzerland, Beth is
studying communications and media, and comparative literary and
cultural studies. Interestingly, Beth’s grandfather, Eugene Sullivan,
was honored at AFSA’s Memorial Plaque Ceremony last year. He was
a Foreign Service officer with USAID when he died of malaria in
Ethiopia in 1972.
We thank our departing interns — Paul J. Carter, Christy Nguyen
and David J. Barton — for their hard work and dedication during the
spring semester and wish them the very best.
Managing Unaccompanied Tours
In May, more than 25 Foreign Service family members and employ-
ees attended a Washington-area happy hour hosted by the Associates
of the American Foreign Service Worldwide. The topic was managing
an unaccompanied tour and the event included presentations from
representatives of State Department offices and a panel of family
members who have experienced an unaccompanied tour.
Family Liaison Office representatives presented information on FLO’s
Unaccompanied Tours Support Program, which provides guidance,
resources and assistance to all FS employees and family members
from all foreign affairs agencies.
The Foreign Service Institute’s Transition Center provided an
overview of courses available to employees and family members and
resources offered by the Overseas Briefing Center.
The Office of Medical Services’ Employee Consultation Service
explained the confidential counseling and referral options available for
AFSA
NEWS
BRIEFS
Staff:
Executive Director Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel Sharon Papp:
papps@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel Zlatana Badrich:
badrichz@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist James Yorke:
yorkej@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor Janet Weber:
weber@afsa.org
Senior Staff Attorney Neera Parikh:
parikhna@state.gov
Staff Attorney Raeka Safai:
safair@state.gov
Staff Attorney Andrew Large:
largea@state.gov
Office Manager Christine Warren:
warrenc@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staff Assistant Stefan Geyer:
geyer@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and Outreach
Retiree Counseling & Legislation Coordinator Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Associate Coordinator for Retiree Counseling and Legislation Matt Sumrak:
sumrak@afsa.org
Director of Communications Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Director of Policy:
vacant
Legislative Assistant Clint Lohse:
lohse@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Scholarship Director Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Program Assistant Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Marketing & Outreach Manager Asgeir Sigfusson:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Special Awards & Outreach Coordinator Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Web and Graphics Assistant Jeff Lau:
lau@afsa.org
AFSA HEADQUARTERS:
(202) 338-4045; Fax: (202) 338-6820
STATE DEPARTMENT AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 647-8160; Fax: (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 712-1941; Fax: (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA OFFICE:
(202) 482-9088; Fax: (202) 482-9087
PRESIDENT:
johnson@afsa.org
STATE VP:
hirschdm@state.gov
RETIREE VP:
megilroy@gmail.com
USAID VP:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FAS VP:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
FCS VP:
keith.curtis@mail.doc.gov
AFSA News
Editor Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
(202) 944-5516; Fax: (202) 338-6820
Foreign Service Journal
FSJ:
journal@afsa.org
Editor Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor Susan Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director Caryn Suko Smith:
journaldesign@comcast.net
On the Web
AFSA WEB SITE:
www.afsa.org
FSJ:
www.afsa.org/fsj
Governing Board:
PRESIDENT:
Susan R. Johnson
STATE VP:
Daniel Hirsch
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis
FAS VP:
David Mergen
RETIREE VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy
SECRETARY:
Vacant
TREASURER:
Andrew Winter
STATE REPS:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
Grace Choi
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Kimberly Krhounek
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
David Zwach
USAID REPS:
Michael Henning
Iris Young
FCS REP:
Steve Morrison
FAS REP:
Andrew Burst
IBB REP:
Andre De Nesnera
RETIREE REPS:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson
FS Follies
State Department employees and family members.
For more information about happy hours and other upcoming
events, please contact AAFSW First Vice President Jen Dinoia at
vicepresident1@aafsw.org.