Page 6 - FSJ_july-august13-FIXED

This is a SEO version of FSJ_july-august13-FIXED. Click here to view full version

« Previous Page Table of Contents Next Page »
6
July-August 2013
|
the foreign Service journal
Editor
Steven Alan Honley:
honley@afsa.org
Senior Editor
Susan Brady Maitra:
maitra@afsa.org
Associate Editor
Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
AFSA News Editor
Donna Ayerst:
ayerst@afsa.org
Ad & Circulation Manager
Ed Miltenberger:
miltenberger@afsa.org
Art Director
Caryn Suko Smith
Editorial Intern
Jesse Smith
Advertising Intern
Andreas Dorner
Editorial Board
James P. Seevers, Chairman
Judith Baroody
William D. Bent
Clayton Bond
Gordon S. Brown
Stephen W. Buck
Ruth M. Hall
Richard McKee
Jed Meline
Gregory L. Naarden
Beth Payne
The Magazine for Foreign Affairs
Professionals
The Foreign Service Journal
(ISSN 0146-3543), 2101 E
Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037-2990 is published
monthly, with a combined July-August issue, by the
American Foreign Service Association (AFSA), a private,
nonproft organization. Material appearing herein repre-
sents the opinions of the writers and does not necessarily
represent the views of the
Journal
, the Editorial Board or
AFSA. Writer queries and submissions are invited, prefer-
ably by e-mail. The
Journal
is not responsible for unso-
licited manuscripts, photos or illustrations. Advertising
inquiries are invited. The appearance of advertisements
herein does not imply endorsement of the services or
goods ofered.
Journal
subscription: AFSA member–$20,
included in annual dues; student–$30; institution–$40;
others–$50. For foreign surface mail, add $18 per year;
foreign airmail, $36 per year. Periodical postage paid
at Washington, D.C., and at additional mailing ofces.
Indexed by the Public Afairs Information Services (PAIS).
E-mail: journal@afsa.org
Phone: (202) 338-4045
Fax: (202) 338-8244
Web:
www.afsa.org/fsj
© American Foreign Service Association, 2013
Printed in the U.S.A.
Postmaster: Send address changes to
AFSA
Attn: Address Change
2101 E Street NW
Washington DC 20037-2990
AFSA Headquarters:
(202) 338-4045; Fax (202) 338-6820
State Department AFSA Ofce:
(202) 647-8160; Fax (202) 647-0265
USAID AFSA Ofce:
(202) 712-1941; Fax (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA Ofce:
(202) 482-9088; Fax (202) 482-9087
Governing Board
President:
Susan R. Johnson:
johnson@afsa.org
State VP:
Daniel Hirsch:
HirschDM@state.gov
USAID VP:
Francisco Zamora:
fzamora@usaid.gov
FCS VP:
Keith Curtis:
keith.curtis@trade.gov
FAS VP:
David Mergen:
david.mergen@fas.usda.gov
Retiree VP:
Mary Ellen Gilroy:
megilroy@gmail.com
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: AndrewWinter
State Reps:
Matthew Asada
William Bent
E. Alex Copher
Tim Corso
Kenneth Kero-Mentz
Elise Mellinger
Joyce Namde
Ted Osius
Lillian Wahl-Tuco
David Zwach
USAID Reps:
Jason Singer
Andrew Levin
FCS Rep: Steve Morrison
FAS Rep: Rachel Nelson
IBB Rep: Andre de Nesnera
Retiree Reps:
Robert Houdek
Edward Marks
Hugh Neighbour
Molly Williamson
Staff
Executive Director
Ian Houston:
houston@afsa.org
Executive Assistant to the President
Patrick Bradley:
bradley@afsa.org
Business Department
Director of Finance
Femi Oshobukola:
oshobukola@afsa.org
Controller
Kalpna Srimal:
srimal@afsa.org
Assistant Controller
Cory Nishi:
cnishi@afsa.org
Labor Management
General Counsel
Sharon Papp:
PappS@state.gov
Deputy General Counsel
Zlatana Badrich:
BadrichZ@state.gov
Labor Management Specialist
James Yorke:
YorkeJ@state.gov
Labor Management Counselor
Janet Weber:
WeberJ2@state.gov
Senior Staf Attorney
Neera Parikh:
ParikhNA@state.gov
Staf Attorney
Raeka Safai:
SafaiR@state.gov
Staf Attorney
Andrew Large:
LargeA@state.gov
Ofce Manager
Christine Warren:
WarrenC@state.gov
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser
Douglas Broome:
dbroome@usaid.gov
USAID Staf Assistant
Chioma Dike:
cdike@afsa.org
Member Services
Member Services Director
Janet Hedrick:
hedrick@afsa.org
Member Services Representative
Kristy Pomes:
pomes@afsa.org
Administrative Assistant and Ofce Manager
Ana Lopez:
lopez@afsa.org
Communications, Marketing and
Outreach
Director of New Media
Ásgeir Sigfússon:
sigfusson@afsa.org
Director of Communications
Vacant
Special Awards and Outreach Coordinator
Perri Green:
green@afsa.org
Editor/Publisher, FS Books
Shawn Dorman:
dorman@afsa.org
Speakers Bureau Director
Thomas Switzer:
switzer@afsa.org
Web and Graphics Assistant
Jef Lau:
lau@afsa.org
PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS
Coordinator, Retiree Counseling
and Legislation
Bonnie Brown:
brown@afsa.org
Associate Coordinator, Retiree Counseling
and Legislation
Matthew Sumrak:
sumrak@afsa.org
Advocacy Director
Javier Cuebas:
cuebas@afsa.org
Legislative Assistant
David Murimi:
murimi@afsa.org
Scholarship Director
Lori Dec:
dec@afsa.org
Scholarship Assistant
Jonathan Crawford:
crawford@afsa.org
Foreign
Service
www.afsa.org
Washington DC 20037-2990