The Foreign Service Journal - December 2013 - page 6

december 2013
the foreign Service journal
Steven Alan Honley:
Senior Editor
Susan Brady Maitra:
Associate Editor
Shawn Dorman:
AFSA News Editor
Donna Ayerst:
Ad & Circulation Manager
Ed Miltenberger:
Art Director
Caryn Suko Smith
Editorial Intern
Valerie Sanders
Advertising Intern
Tom van der Stelt
Editorial Board
Jim DeHart, Chairman
Hon. Gordon S. Brown
Stephen W. Buck
Ruth Hall
Maria C. Livingston
Richard McKee
Beth Payne
John G. Rendeiro Jr.
Duncan Walker
Tracy Whittington
Clayton Bond (AFSA Governing Board liaison)
The Magazine for Foreign Affairs
The Foreign Service Journal
(ISSN 0146-3543), 2101 E
Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037-2990 is published
monthly, with a combined July-August issue, by the
American Foreign Service Association (AFSA), a private,
nonprofit organization. Material appearing herein repre-
sents the opinions of the writers and does not necessarily
represent the views of the
, the Editorial Board or
AFSA. Writer queries and submissions are invited, prefer-
ably by e-mail. The
is not responsible for unso-
licited manuscripts, photos or illustrations. Advertising
inquiries are invited. The appearance of advertisements
herein does not imply endorsement of the services or
goods offered.
subscription: AFSA member–$20,
included in annual dues; student–$30; institution–$40;
others–$50; Single issue–$4.50. For foreign surface mail,
add $18 per year; foreign airmail, $36 per year. Periodi-
cal postage paid at Washington, D.C., and at additional
mailing offices. Indexed by the Public Affairs Information
Services (PAIS).
(202) 338-4045
(202) 338-8244
© American Foreign Service Association, 2013
Printed in the U.S.A.
Postmaster: Send address changes to
Attn: Address Change
2101 E Street NW
Washington DC 20037-2990
AFSA Headquarters:
(202) 338-4045; Fax (202) 338-6820
State Department AFSA Office:
(202) 647-8160; Fax (202) 647-0265
(202) 712-1941; Fax (202) 216-3710
FCS AFSA Office:
(202) 482-9088; Fax (202) 482-9087
Governing Board
Robert J. Silverman;
: Angela Dickey:
Hon. Charles A. Ford;
State Vice President:
Matthew K. Asada;
USAID Vice President:
Sharon Wayne;
FCS Vice President:
Steve Morrison;
FAS Vice President:
David Mergen;
Retiree Vice President:
Lawrence Cohen; lawrencecohenassociates@
State Representatives:
Clayton Bond
Everett “Alex” Copher
Todd Crawford
Chuck Fee
Ken Kero-Mentz
Elise Mellinger
Nancy Rios-Brooks
Sue Saarnio
Michael D. Thomas
Lillian Wahl-Tuco
David Zwach
USAID Representatives:
Andrew Levin
Jason Singer
FCS Representative:
Barbara Farrar
FAS Representative:
Mark Petry
IBB Representative:
Andre de Nesnera
APHIS Representative: VACANT
Retiree Representatives:
Marshall Adair
Hon. David Greenlee
F. Allen “Tex” Harris
Hon. Edward Marks
Executive Director
Ian Houston:
Executive Assistant to the President
Patrick Bradley:
Business Department
Director of Finance
Femi Oshobukola:
Kalpna Srimal:
Assistant Controller
Cory Nishi:
Labor Management
General Counsel
Sharon Papp:
Deputy General Counsel
Zlatana Badrich:
Labor Management Specialist
James Yorke:
Labor Management Counselor
Senior Staff Attorney
Neera Parikh:
Staff Attorney
Raeka Safai:
Staff Attorney
Andrew Large:
Executive Assistant
Elizabeth Lee:
USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser
Douglas Broome:
USAID Staff Assistant
Chioma Dike:
Member Services
Member Services Director
Janet Hedrick:
Member Services Representative
Kristy Pomes:
Coordinator, Retiree Counseling
and Legislation
Associate Coordinator, Retiree Counseling
and Legislation
Matthew Sumrak:
Administrative Assistant and Office Manager
Ana Lopez:
Director of Communications
Kristen Fernekes:
Director of New Media
Ásgeir Sigfússon:
Editor/Publisher, FS Books
Shawn Dorman:
Online Communications Specialist
Jeff Lau:
Special Awards and Outreach Coordinator
Perri Green:
Speakers Bureau Director
Thomas Switzer:
Advocacy Director
Javier Cuebas:
Legislative Assistant
David Murimi:
Scholarship Director
Lori Dec:
Scholarship Assistant
Jonathan Crawford:
1,2,3,4,5 7,8,9,10,11,12,13,14,15,16,...104
Powered by FlippingBook