Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  6 / 108 Next Page
Basic version Information
Show Menu
Previous Page 6 / 108 Next Page
Page Background

6

DECEMBER 2015

|

THE FOREIGN SERVICE JOURNAL

Editor in Chief, Director of Publications

Shawn Dorman:

dorman@afsa.org

Managing Editor

Susan Brady Maitra:

maitra@afsa.org

Associate Editor

Maria C. Livingston:

livingston@afsa.org

Editorial/Publications Specialist

VACANT

Editorial Assistant

Shannon Mizzi

Ad & Circulation Manager

Ed Miltenberger:

miltenberger@afsa.org

Art Director

Caryn Suko Smith

Editorial Intern

Dastan Sadykov

Advertising Intern

Milo Opdahl

Contributing Editor

Steven Alan Honley

Editorial Board

Beth Payne, Chair

James Bever

Angela Bond

Hon. Gordon S. Brown

Stephen W. Buck

Eric Green

Kara McDonald

John G. Rendeiro Jr.

Duncan Walker

Tracy Whittington

Tricia Wingerter (Governing Board Liaison)

THE MAGAZINE FOR FOREIGN AFFAIRS

PROFESSIONALS

The Foreign Service Journal

(ISSN 0146-3543), 2101 E

Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20037-2990 is pub-

lished monthly, with combined January-February and

July-August issues, by the American Foreign Service

Association (AFSA), a private, nonprofit organization.

Material appearing herein represents the opinions of the

writers and does not necessarily represent the views of

the

Journal

, the Editorial Board or AFSA. Writer queries

and submissions are invited, preferably by email. The

Journal

is not responsible for unsolicited manuscripts,

photos or illustrations. Advertising inquiries are invited.

All advertising is subject to the publisher’s approval.

AFSA reserves the right to reject advertising that is not

in keeping with its standards and objectives. The appear-

ance of advertisements herein does not imply endorse-

ment of goods or services offered. Opinions expressed in

advertisements are the views of the advertisers and do

not necessarily represent AFSA views or policy.

Journal

subscription: AFSA member–$20, included in annual

dues; student–$30; institution–$40; others–$50; Single

issue–$4.50. For foreign surface mail, add $18 per year;

foreign airmail, $36 per year. Periodical postage paid

at Washington, D.C., and at additional mailing offices.

Indexed by the Public Affairs Information Services (PAIS).

Email:

journal@afsa.org

Phone:

(202) 338-4045

Fax:

(202) 338-8244

Web:

www.afsa.org/fsj

© American Foreign Service Association, 2015

PRINTED IN THE U.S.A.

Postmaster: Send address changes to

AFSA, Attn: Address Change

2101 E Street NW

Washington DC 20037-2990

AFSA Headquarters:

(202) 338-4045; Fax (202) 338-6820

State Department AFSA Office:

(202) 647-8160; Fax (202) 647-0265

USAID AFSA Office:

(202) 712-1941; Fax (202) 216-3710

FCS AFSA Office:

(202) 482-9088; Fax (202) 482-9087

GOVERNING BOARD

President

Hon. Barbara Stephenson:

stephenson@afsa.org

Secretary

William Haugh:

billhaugh@hotmail.com

Treasurer

Hon. Charles A. Ford:

ford@afsa.org

State Vice President

Angie Bryan:

BryanA@state.gov

USAID Vice President

Sharon Wayne:

swayne@usaid.gov

FCS Vice President

Steve Morrison:

Steve.Morrison@trade.gov

FAS Vice President

Mark Petry:

mark.petry@fas.usda.gov

Retiree Vice President

Hon. Tom Boyatt:

tdboyatt@gmail.com

State Representatives

Lawrence Casselle

John Dinkelman

Eric Geelan

Josh Glazeroff

Margaret “Nini” Hawthorne

Philip Laidlaw

Peter Neisuler

Erin O’Connor

Leah Pease

Tricia Wingerter

USAID Representatives

Jeffrey Cochrane

Lorraine Sherman

FCS Representative

Youqing Ma

FAS Representative

Corey Pickelsimer

BBG Representative

Vacant

APHIS Representative

Mark C. Prescott

Retiree Representatives

Hon. Patricia Butenis

Dean J. Haas

Hon. Al La Porta

Hon. John Limbert

STAFF

Executive Director

Ian Houston:

houston@afsa.org

Executive Assistant

Patrick Bradley:

bradley@afsa.org

BUSINESS DEPARTMENT

Director of Finance

Femi Oshobukola:

oshobukola@afsa.org

Controller

Kalpna Srimal:

srimal@afsa.org

Assistant Controller

Cory Nishi:

cnishi@afsa.org

LABOR MANAGEMENT

General Counsel

Sharon Papp:

PappS@state.gov

Deputy General Counsel

Zlatana Badrich:

BadrichZ@state.gov

Labor Management Specialist

James Yorke:

YorkeJ@state.gov

Senior Staff Attorney

Neera Parikh:

ParikhNA@state.gov

Staff Attorney

Raeka Safai:

SafaiR@state.gov

Staff Attorney

Andrew Large:

LargeA@state.gov

Labor Management Counselor

Colleen Fallon-Lenaghan:

FallonLenaghanC@state.gov

Labor Management Assistant

Jason Snyder:

SnyderJ@state.gov

Executive Assistant

Lindsey Botts:

BottsLK@state.gov

USAID Senior Labor Management Adviser

Douglas Broome:

dbroome@usaid.gov

USAID Staff Assistant

Erika Bethmann:

ebethmann@usaid.gov

MEMBER SERVICES

Member Services Director

Janet Hedrick:

hedrick@afsa.org

Membership Representative

Natalie Cheung:

cheung@afsa.org

Retiree Counselor

Todd Thurwachter:

thurwachter@afsa.org

Coordinator, Retiree Counseling

and Legislation

VACANT

Administrative Assistant and Office Manager

Ana Lopez:

lopez@afsa.org

COMMUNICATIONS

Director of Communications

Ásgeir Sigfússon:

sigfusson@afsa.org

Online Communications Specialist

Jeff Lau:

lau@afsa.org

Communications and Press Specialist

Allan Saunders:

saunders@afsa.org

Foreign Service Profession Awards Coordinator

Perri Green:

green@afsa.org

ADVOCACY

Advocacy Director

Javier Cuebas:

cuebas@afsa.org

SCHOLARSHIPS

Scholarship Director

Lori Dec:

dec@afsa.org

Scholarship Senior Associate

Jonathan Crawford:

crawford@afsa.org

FOREIGN

SERVICE

CONTACTS

www.afsa.org