Annual Report 2014 | American Foreign Service Association
Table of Contents Table of Contents
Previous Page  30 / 32 Next Page
Basic version Information
Show Menu
Previous Page 30 / 32 Next Page
Page Background


Awards and Plaques Committee

This committee oversees the AFSA memorial plaque and, with

the AFSA Governing Board, recommends the winners of AFSA’s

awards for constructive dissent, exemplary performance, Life-

time Contributions to American Diplomacy, the Mark Palmer

Award for the Advancement of Democracy and the Sinclaire

Language Awards.

2014 Members:

Amb. John Limbert (chair), Janice Bay, Joseph

Bristol, Adam Center, Anthony Fernandes, Eva Groening, Ruth

Hall, Allison Lee, Daniel Martinez, Amb. Edward Marks (AFSA

Governing Board liaison), Patricia Norland, Amb. Edward Peck.

Finance, Audit and Management


This committee works with the AFSA Governing Board to oversee

the organization’s budget process—and associated management

issues—as well as the annual audit.

2014 Members:

Amb. Charles Ford (chair), Matthew Asada, Sha-

ron Wayne, Steve Morrison, David Mergen, Lawrence Cohen,

Chuck Fee.

Scholarship Committee

This committee oversees the selection and awarding of AFSA’s fi-

nancial aid and merit scholarships and also is responsible for the

stewardship of the AFSA Scholarship Fund.

2014 Members:

Amb. Lange Schermerhorn (chair), Lora Berg

(State rep), Chanda Berk (FAS rep), Karen Brown (DACOR li-

aison), S. Katherine Farnsworth (USAID rep), Bill Kutson (FCS

rep), Maureen O’Neill (State rep) Mark Petry (FAS rep), Bess Zelle

(State rep), Lawrence Cohen (AFSA Governing Board liaison).

Foreign Service Journal

Editorial Board

The Editorial Board works with the


staff to develop the



’s editorial calendar and review submitted works for publication.

2014 Members:

Jim DeHart (chair), Amb. Gordon Brown, Ste-

phen Buck, Ruth Hall, Maria Livingston, Richard McKee, Beth

Payne, John Rendiero Jr., Duncan Walker, Tracy Whittington,

Clayton Bond (AFSA Governing Board Liasion).

Elections Committee

This committee oversees the biannual AFSA election process and

works with AFSA staff to ensure the elections’ integrity.

2014 Members:

Amb. Robert “Bill” Farrand (chair), Jenna Bu-

cha Jones, Mort Dworkin, Russell Knight, Andrea Strano, Ian

Houston (AFSA staff), Sharon Papp (AFSA staff), Janet Hedrick

(AFSA staff).

Committee on the Foreign Service

Profession and Ethics

This committee is charged with increasing professionalism within

the Foreign Service and creating a code of ethics for Foreign Ser-

vice employees.

2014 Members:

Robert Dry (chair, since 9/1/2014), Alec Augus-

tine-Marceil, Jennifer Becker, Anne Bodine, David Brownstein,

Tanya Cole, Eva Groening, Mary Jeffers, Susan Johnson, Amb.

Charles Ray (chair, through 9/1/2014), Michael Ross, David

Zwach, Angela Dickey (AFSA Governing Board liaison).

Governance Committee

This committee, composed of current Governing Board members

and agency vice presidents, monitors governance and recom-

mends standard operating procedures and practices.

2014 Members:

Angela Dickey (chair), Ken Kero-Mentz, Amb.

Charles Ford, F. Allen “Tex” Harris, Matthew Asada (State VP),

Sharon Wayne (USAID VP), Steve Morrison (FCS VP), David

Mergen (FAS VP), Larry Cohen (Retiree VP), Ian Houston (AFSA

staff), Sharon Papp (AFSA staff), Patrick Bradley (AFSA staff)

AFSA Standing Committees