Governing Board (2013-15)


The AFSA Governing Board is elected by the membership every two years and is composed of representatives from each AFSA constituency. The entire membership elects three officers - President, Treasurer, and Secretary. Each constituency then casts votes for its agency or retiree Vice President and representative positions. Currently, the board has 29 members – in addition to the three officers, there are five Vice Presidents (State, USAID, FAS, FCS, and retiree), eleven State representatives, two USAID representatives, one representative each for FAS, FCS, BBG and APHIS, and four retiree representatives. Click here for more information about AFSA elections. The board's constitution is governed by the AFSA bylaws. Over the last twenty years the AFSA board has grown from 21 to 29 members. It has been the policy of AFSA boards to seek to be as diverse and representative as possible.

The basic responsibilities of a governing board are to set the mission and purpose of the organization, ensure effective planning, select/support and evaluate the chief executive, monitor and strengthen programs and services, ensure adequate financial resources, protect assets and provide financial oversight, build a competent board, ensure legal and ethical integrity and to enhance the organization’s public standing. AFSA Governing Board position descriptions can be found linked on this page to the right.


The Board represents the entire AFSA membership and encourages comments and suggestions from people in the field. If you are a member of AFSA, we hope you will also consider serving on a future AFSA Governing Board, working on behalf of your colleagues for a two-year term.

AFSA Governing Board (2013-2015)

President Robert J. Silverman
Secretary Angela Dickey
Treasurer Hon. Charles A. Ford
State Vice President Matthew K. Asada
USAID Vice President Sharon Wayne
FCS Vice President Steve Morrison
FAS Vice President Mark Petry (appointed 4/1/15)
Retiree Vice President Lawrence Cohen
State Representatives Ronnie Catipon (appointed 6/4/14)
Todd Crawford
Chuck Fee
Ken Kero-Mentz
Neeru Lal (appointed 8/6/14)
Ronita Macklin (appointed 6/4/14)
Elise Mellinger
Homeyra Mokhtarzada (appointed 7/8/14)
Nancy Rios-Brooks
Daniel Spokojny (appointed 12/3/14)
USAID Representatives Jeri Dible (appointed 8/6/14)
Jeffrey Cochrane (appointed 1/7/15)
FCS Representative William Kutson (appointed 9/2/14)
FAS Representative David Mergen (appointed 4/1/15)
BBG Representative Andre de Nesnera
APHIS Representative Mark C. Prescott (appointed 4/2/14)
Retiree Representatives Marshall Adair
Hon. David Greenlee
F. Allen 'Tex' Harris
Hon. Edward Marks